“Steadfast Love” by Lauren Chandler – A Book Review

File_000

I’ll  be honest – the first thing that attracted me to this book was the pretty cover. Navy and gold? Right up my alley! And the text inside is actually navy blue, too. I don’t know if I’ve ever come across another book with text in anything other than black. Aesthetics aside, I found the content within to be even more inspiring than the appealing cover design.

This sentence graces the back cover:

“Sometimes He wrings the worship from our hearts.”

I don’t know about you, but when I read a phrase like this, I wince a little. The thought of worship being wrung from my heart makes me shrink back – because what kind of pain, trials, and storms would I have to endure for that to happen? It’s easy to esteem loving and trusting Him in the midst of it all, but if I am being honest, I don’t like the idea of suffering.

Steadfast Love focuses on Psalm 107 and the steadfast love of the Lord toward His children as they encounter various situations. She highlights the journey of those who find themselves in chains, in folly, in the desert, and in the storm – and how God rescues and redeems them. At some point, all of us will find ourselves in hard, painful circumstances. Some of these circumstances are simply a result of living in a sinful, fallen world; while others are consequences of our own poor choices. And then there are the trials that the Lord allows us to walk through solely for our good and His glory. We can expect difficulties in life and praise God, we can expect His faithfulness through it all (1 Pet. 1:7). Lauren writes:

“The beauty of this Psalm is that there is not one season in which we have not found ourselves. It is an invitation to self-examination balanced by God-exaltation. We see ourselves with the psalmist’s eyes, we recognize the ache, the sting, the heaviness; and, we identify with their cry for help. The picture of God’s deliverance in each scenario encourages us to trust that He is willing and able–that there is a God who cares, who is not far off, who concerns Himself with our concerns, and who is the only One capable of rescuing us.” (emphasis mine)

IMG_2215

One of my favorite parts of the book was Lauren’s examination of “faux-anchors” – anything we depend upon other than Jesus:

“What we choose to use as our anchor determines how well we will weather the seasons of life. Imagine hoisting a rope tied to a brick over the side of an ocean liner and saying, “That’ll hold.” anyone in her right mind would signal the Coast Guard and be on the next boat back to shore. The brick will sink and have the appearance of stability, but the first steady current would sweep it away.

I have had my share of faux-anchors–things, people, talents, abilities, statuses, even good deeds–that felt like they would hold but without exception, each failed me. God has graciously used seasons in the desert, in chains, in folly, and in the storm to expose the weakness of my anchor imposter. He unties the frail rope from the measly brick and replaces it with His “hesed” chain tied to the anchor of Yahweh, the Great “I AM,” the One who will never fail.”

I highly recommend this book for any woman, regardless of age or season in life. As Lauren dives deeply into Scripture and shares the trials that made Psalm 107 precious to her, your heart will be freshly anchored to the Lord.

Have you recently read a book that has encouraged you spiritually? Tell me about it in the comments below!

This book was provided by B&H Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on ““Steadfast Love” by Lauren Chandler – A Book Review

Leave a Reply

